K2-SO Droid project from Star Wars

Hi,
I am new to the forum.
I am currently undertaking a project to build a 1:1 scale K2-SO droid from the star wars movie series.
I am 3D printing the parts now, from a great group called Droid Division on Facebook.
The finished print stands a little over 7" tall, so it is a HUGE project.

As part of the print files they provide animatronic eyes that move.
This is where I fall down a bit. I am a NooB when it comes to electronics and writing code. So I am hoping someone will take pity on me and help me out.
There are two features I want to add to this project.
Simple animatronic eye movement and pan and tilt object tracking.
But I have very little idea where to begin.
I will be using a ESP32 because, thatā€™s what I have on hand.
So, First things first.
Iā€™d like the eye mechanism to do a random movement. The central position looking straight forwards. Position 1.

2   3   4
   5   1   6 
   7   8   9

I think position 1 is around 40% of the time. So a random generator where anything above 40% it chooses a position from 1 ~ 9 with a random pause internal from 0.5 to 3 seconds before generating a new position.
Task two is object tracking. A pan and tilt function where it will tracks a personā€™s face and positions the head to follow their movement.
Can I use the same controller to do both functions at the same time?
So, any help anyone can offer to point me in the right direction would be very much appreciated.
Bear in mind, I am a complete beginner with this, so please be kind.
Thanks

5 Likes

Hey Chris,

Welcome to the forum!!

AWESOME PROJECT!!! This has got to be one of the coolest 3D prints I have seen (a bit biased - profile pic aha)