Lulzbot TAZ 6 3D Printer (CE04373)

This is a placeholder topic for “Lulzbot TAZ 6 3D Printer” comments.

The LulzBot® TAZ 6 is the most reliable, easiest-to-use desktop 3D printer ever, featuring innovative self-leveling and self-cleaning, and a modular tool head design for flexible and multimaterial upgrades. This 3D printer is able to facilitate more consistent, higher-quality prints than ever.

Read more

I am new to 3D printing but am interested in Lulzbot TAZ 6 printer. does it come out of the box with sample filament or do I need to purchase a roll at the time of purchasing the printer. Also I am wanting to make parts with a relatively hard/stiff plastic. Can you please advise what would be best for my purpose?

I forgot to ask. Does the printer come with software that I can design the 3d model in? I am experienced with AutoCAD do these softwares operate similar?

For the printer I got, it only comes with 3-D software to load/manage print jobs. Why not go to the vendor web page for the printer you are interested in and see what offerings they have.

I use FreeCad and it works well. I generate STL files and then load them into the software that I got with my 3-D Printer.

So long as you can generate an STL file (And I’m sure AutoCad can do this), you should be fine.

2 Likes

Hi Travis,

The Lulzbot TAZ 6 comes with enough filament to replicate the “Roktopus” sample print. You’ll certainly want to grab some extra filament though. Our $37/kg 3mm ABS/PLA reels are the best value.

My tip - grab one reel of ABS and PLA. That way you have one of each popular material type to start with.

Hey Travis,

First off, I’d recommend you take a look at our 3D printing tutorials, written with the Lulzbot ecosystem in mind.