NFC Tag with Iphone 11

Hi All,

I’ve recently purchased the NFC Tag (FIT0314) and can’t seem to get them working.

I’m an absolute newbie to this type of stuff. I just fancied playing around with them as a bit of a gadget / learning experience.

I’ve followed what seems to be the most normal steps, i.e.

1. Download NXP TagWriter
  2. Try to create a new link
  3. Hold the tag against the phone to write to it

Whenever I hold the tag against t5he phone, nothing happens. It’s as if it’s dead. I can use the phone to pay for things so it’s not a phone issue I don’t think. I bought 4 tags and it’s the same for all of them.

I’m hoping it’s just me being ridiculous and there’s an easy solve. :slight_smile:

Thanks!!

What app are you using to read the tag? What phone are you using? Android or iOs?

1 Like

Hey,

Using NXP TagWriter. It’s an iPhone 11 on iOS 14.0.1.

Alan

1 Like

How to use the NFC tag reader in iOS 14

To use the iOS 14 NFC tag reader, you’ll first need to add it to your Control Centre, which is the menu that opens when you swipe up on iPhone models with a Home button or swipe from the top corner on iPhone X and 11.

To do this, simply head into Settings > Control Centre > Customise Controls.

Once in the Customise Controls section, scroll down until you find the NFC Tag Reader and press the ‘+’ symbol to add it to the Control Centre menu.

Once you’ve done this, you simply need to tap on the NFC tag reader icon and hold your phone near an NFC tag to read its contents.

Does this help?

1 Like

Hey,

I don’t have a ‘NFC Tag Reader’ under the control centre. I added ‘wallet’ just in case that helped, but no luck. :frowning:

Alan

I played around with RFID some time ago. Bought two kits like the one below for about $5 (including postage) from overseas. The reader and tags worked well with an Arduino UNO and NANO.