Pedestrian Crossing, re-imagined

Hi guys,

I’m an art student back with another project on the go.

I’m wondering if someone can help hold my hand a bit with motion sensing and ultra-bright LEDs.

I’ve got a pedestrian crossing which I’ve gutted, and want to re-program using my own logic, utilising motion sensing. So basically, when someone is within range of the object and moving, it tells them “don’t walk”, and as soon as they are still, it tells them “walk”. Think of it as a fickle/bossy/condescending pedestrian crossing that responds to your presence. I need the motion sensor to know at all times whether there is movement, as I would like the light to be immediately responsive.

As an artist I’m interested in what it means to be human in this technological age. This work is a contemplation of daily interface to rules and assumptions. I’m interested in what happens to the viewer when an object with known behaviours acts according to different logic.

Very grateful for any help, eager to learn, able to follow a good tutorial but not much brain capacity in the way of calculating things to do with numbers. Voltages and Watts and Ohms law frighten me a bit. It seems like every time I learn it I feel like I know it, but to put it in to practice is another thing all together.

I want to use my Raspberry Pi Zero. My pedestrian crossing was lit with 2 regular white household light globes before I gutted it. I’d like it to be bright, like, almost hurt your eyes levels of bright. The Red/Green from walk/don’t walk are embedded in the object itself, so my light need only be white.

The crossing also has inbuilt mirrored reflectors which I’m assuming amplify light pretty well. This also means that the angle of light needs to be arranged in a way that it will bounce outwards like a regular light globe. I’m just not sure what sort of lights I’ll need to emulate a strong household globe, and how to go about powering them.

Many thanks in advance!

3 Likes

Hi Marian,