Perpetual drawing machine

Hi guys!

I’m an art student back with a new project for the new year.

Last year I made a drawing clock (Drawing Clock), and this year I plan to make a wall drawing machine, controllable by both myself in situ, and by stepper motors, programmatically, in my absence. The idea is that the machine will always be drawing, whether I am there or not. As an artist, I’m exploring what happens when we hand over our own agency to external sources, whether that be other humans, machines, or AI.

The wall drawing machine will be a Y-plotter, similar to the likes of http://www.polargraph.co.uk/

However, unlike the polargraph, I want my machine to be controllable by hand and machine, and record my own movements for playback and subversion. Kind of like a giant human etch-a-sketch with record, playback, and interesting interventions.

Here is a picture of the non-electronic predecessor of my project where I pull two strings attached to pulleys to control the XY position of a piece of charcoal attached to a gondola:

To electronicise this drawing machine, I was looking at replacing the pulleys with stepper motors with encoders, but wow they’re not cheap! Can you think of another solution that might work? If I have to shell out at the end of the day, I will, but had hoped to ask the hive mind here first :slight_smile:

Thanks!

5 Likes

Hi Marian,

Awesome project idea! With a feature wishlist like that, I couldn’t think of anything off-the-shelf that would fit the bill. Closest I found was a similar concept, but in 3D:

You’re definitely after encoders for that recording function, and as for whether you go with brushless motors or stepper motors as your driving motors is up to you.

I’m a fan of the ODrive project, but that might be overkill for the power that you need.

Does it need to be quiet? That will help us pick out some hardware.

Keen to see where this goes!
-James

5 Likes

Hey Marian,