Drawing Clock

Hey guys! I’m an art student wanting to make a large clock, but instead of hands, I want a 30cm diameter disc of plywood to make a full rotation every 24h. The “clock” will have a chunk of charcoal dragged across its face every time someone opens or closes the front door of my school. So, over time, we’ll see an accumulation of marks denoting the comings and goings of students and staff.

I currently have on hand a raspberry pi zero, prototyping tools, decent programming knowledge, basic electrical knowledge and a few tutorials under my belt. I’m still firmly in the “tutorial following” stage of learning.

To rotate the clock face, should I use a stepper motor, or a heavyweight servo? I’m also a bit confused about what the best motor controller will be for this project. I own a few DC motors and a dual sparkfun motor driver, but I’m assuming that I’ll need something different (I got the stuff for https://core-electronics.com.au/tutorials/how-to-control-a-motor-with-the-raspberry-pi.html and have completed that tutorial)

Can you please recommend an appropriate motor/controller combination, and suggest the most appropriate motor head fittings? If you have any additional information that might help me to figure this out, that would be great! Thanks so much!

2 Likes

Hey Marian,

Welcome to the forum! :partying_face:

Interesting idea, if you’ve got a Pi zero, some practice soldering, and some knowledge with C or Python to control the GPIO on the Pi you can easily add a bonnet to the board in order to control a stepper motor (for a light wooden arm a Nema 17 should be more than powerful enough and easy to use as you’ll just need to break the 24 hours into 200 steps each being 1.8 degrees) I’ve linked some parts for you below in order to set this one up. Make sure to let us know how you go with the project :slightly_smiling_face:! Or if you have any further questions feel free to post them here.