PiJuice - 12000mAh Battery (CE06505)

This is a placeholder topic for “PiJuice - 12000mAh Battery” comments.

12,000 mAh Lithium Ion battery that can be used with the PiJuice HAT module

Read more

Hi. I’m interested in the 12000 mah battery plastic lithium ion to make a skateboard. Will the plug fit into a truck wheel?

I’m a real newbie so if not I think trying my hand at electronics may be biting off more than I can chew.

If the battery was twice the capacity and easy to fit to skateboard motors I think you could get a lot of interest. As it is I would probably buy two and swap out when one depletes. Also, with regenerative breaking, wpuld the battery fry if over charged?

I need something like this https://hobbyking.com/en_us/xt60-to-micro-losi-charging-adapter-2pcs-bag.html
to connect to something like this https://www.mboards.co/collections/escs/products/dual-hub-motor-esc
I have no idea if the first link is a connector that would connect to the battery or the product in the second link…
Any help anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated!

The XT60 is a 60 amp plug and it connects to the charger. The smaller white plug connects to the battery. They use these adaptors because the connectors aren’t common or a charger.

You wouldn’t use this adaptor for powering the board you linked to. It would burn out the small connector and/or cause the battery to overheat and possibly catch fire. The good news is that your skateboard would be very hot and draw a lot of attention.

Use a battery rated for the application and uses the connector the controller requires. The specs on the controller state that they are 50amp continuous (120amp peak) and they have 10s, 7s and 6s battery versions (10 cell, 7 cell and 6 cell). The battery linked to is a 1S (1 cell) and I doubt would give you much over 1amp continuous.

Core-Electronics have pasted up a video explaining how to select a LiPo battery: