Pinball Switches - capturing the state quickly

Hi All,

I have a pinball bumper that has contacts on the top and bottom. The ball goes into the bumper, joining the contacts and closing the circuit.

I want the ‘button / switch’ that is created to both trigger the solenoid and to add to the player’s score. I can do that by simply running the solenoid on 12V and using the button to close the circuit but I don’t think that the arduino will ‘catch’ the button press.

I have a feeling that with buttons for flippers, servos and several bumpers, the likelihood of the arduino checking the state of the switch at the exact time that the ball hits is very slim. I may end up changing the servos out for solenoids so that will speed up the system.

Is there a way of ‘capturing’ the state of the button with some sort of electronic component until the arduino catches up? Is there a capacitor that can be energised and checked? (I have very little knowledge of capacitors and what they do) Could the 12V of the solenoid circuit be used to change the state of a physical component that can then be checked rather than a boolean state that only changes if the button is being checked at the exact same time the ball hits it?

Thanks
Mark

1 Like

A couple of solutions come to mind:

• Interrupts (Code). The Arduino supports hardware interrupts - the Interrupt Service Routine can handle incrementing the score. See Chapter 5.4 of the Arduino Workshop. Beware of debouncing the signal - chatter in the switch happens at a much slower timescale than the microcontroller operates which can result in firing the ISR multiple times for one event. Debouncing can be done in hardware or software or both.
  • Latches (Hardware). The state can be captured with an SR-latch which can be read at leisure by the microcontroller and then reset. Beware - if you don’t service the SR latch frequently enough then you have the same problem of missing scores.