Printing from a Thermal Printer with Arduino

Hi community,

I am new to Arduino so I apologise if I’m making some rookie errors.

I have been following this youtube tutorial (see: How to connect a thermal printer to the Arduino | Small Project - YouTube) on printing from a 2nd hand thermal printer with Arduino.

I am using a TSC tdp-225 printer that works perfectly well when plugged in via USB to my laptop. It prints like a regular printer.

For my project, I want to connect it to my Arduino UNO (and eventually my ESP32 Fire Beetle) and print using Arduino commands. But, so far, I have been having difficulty.

Firstly, please see my circuit diagram. I am connecting the printer’s serial port via a D9 male to male adapter and RS232 Serial Converter. This is then connected to the Arduino UNO. All up, it is a pretty straightforward circuit.

The code I am using has been directly copy and pasted from the video. I can link this if you would like. In my opinion, a lot of the commands are superfluous at this stage. Something as simple as this (see below) should instruct the printer to print “Test”:

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Test");
}

void loop() {
}

I believe data is being transferred to the rs232 converter as its TX LED flashes whenever I press the reset button on the UNO. But, after that, nothing happens.

I have found this document (see: https://fs.tscprinters.com/system/files/31-0000001-00_tspl_tspl2_programming.pdf) which outlines the TSC programming language. I have tried using some of these commands (e.g. Serial.println(“SELFTEST”)) but also have had no luck. It simply won’t print.

I am pretty close to calling it quits and buying the Thermal Printer from the store here. I bet it’ll be a lot easier to work with.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Regards,

Liam