Problems with partial neopixel string

I use a lot of neopixels so I have a working set of code etc. I buy the Neopixel (WS2812B) strings of neopixels rather than the ‘flat’ strips which don’t flex to suit my needs. Some of my projects do not need the full 100 neopixels so I cut off the excess for other uses. I clearly mark which end is the input end (the end I made the cut). However, when I connect a connector to the leftover strip it will not work. Yes, I have the protective capacitor and resistor in place. If I connect a full strip of 100 it works. Connect a leftover strip of 20 and nothing. I do adjust the code to indicate I am using 100 or 20 as required.

I can find nothing to say a neopixel string is programmed so each neopixel has a set ID number to it. I have ample power as the 100 string works. If I connect the leftover to the end of 100 to make it 120, nothing lights in the add-on. I have plenty of experience in electronics so I have checked connections, looked for any shorts, etc. I have about 5 offcuts and they all refuse to work.

What is it that I might be missing?

Thanks in advance.

Hi Lindsay, Welcome to the forum!

This is an interesting problem! First off, if you could share images of how you’re hooking up the strings, we might spot something, so see if you can grab some pics. There are a few more things to consider:

• Neopixels have a “data in” and “data out” pin, so you can’t connect the strip “backwards” and have it work. Sounds like you’ve got this covered but I thought I’d mention it.
  • You’re right about IDs, I believe how the protocol works is that the first LED takes the first data packet it recieves and passes the rest on to the next LED, reconditioning the signal in the process. Make sure there aren’t any very long runs (50cm+) of wire without an LED in the mix, as the signal could get degraded without any LEDs to recondition.

Keen to see how you’ve got everything hooked up, I hope we can help you towards a solution!
-James