Rasberry Pi as an app server

Hi all,
I am totally new to the Pi and Linux for that matter.
I have developed a paddock recording system for our farming enterprise. It is a web app written in B4J and ABMaterial
It is running on an old win box with Ubuntu 20 now installed. As this is only a private system I see no reason for us to use any hosting service. Yes I know backup etc can/will be a problem.

I am wondering if a Pi 4 may be a good alternative, no HD or fans all the time.

I am not at all sure I know what’s out there or is necessary. Can anyone come up with a list of parts (CPU board, case cooling options, power supply etc.) I should purchase.

Thanks
Rob

3 Likes

Hi Rob,

Excellent question, it is worth noting that the actual architecture of the CPU on your Pi is quite different to the box you’re likely running already (x86 v ARM I’d imagine), so you’ll be limited to operating systems that support that architecture (and run effectively on a Pi for that matter).

Once you’ve confirmed that your application can run on a Pi’s OS and supported by the architecture of the CPU you can really choose just about any case, cooling, power-supply (I would highly recommend the official USB-C supply for a few reasons), and so on that you need.

A LattePanda may be a better fit for your project, particularly if you’re looking to run Windows 10 or Ubuntu or similar distros on an x86 device

https://projects.raspberrypi.org/en/projects/raspberry-pi-getting-started

http://docs.lattepanda.com/content/delta_edition/os/

I suggest reading through the docs I’ve linked above. It should give you a better idea of what’s involved and what your best option is for a dev-board that you can use for your application.

4 Likes

Thanks Bryce,
I should of said B4J compiles to java so no problems with differing architecture. The B4J forums indicates no problems with Pi running the server.

While the LattePanda looks good I believe a Pi will do my job.

Some questions