Weatherproof case for RPi and camera with solar and battery

Hi everyone!

I am working on designing a Pi 4 powered Pi camera for outdoors, placed in a weatherproof case. It will include a battery and a solar panel and will be under the sun all day long.

For power management I am thinking of using Pi Juice Hat with its standard Lithium Ion battery. I am a newbie and it would be a big help if you could please help me sort these questions:

1. Do I need to add ventilation at the bottom and if so, how do I make it insect-proof?

2. with Battery and RPi in a weatherproof box, i am considering a fan or Ice tower. Is it overkill? If not, which ice tower will work along with the power management board? – making sure they are not using the same GPIO pins.

3. Which solar panel would you recommend. Pi Juice panels are good, but I was thinking of something slightly more beautiful and solid that will integrate nicely on top of the case.

I really appreciate any help you could provide. Thanks

4 Likes

Hi Riddhi,

There will be a few challenges with your project idea but it should be possible with some design revisions.
The first challenge will be that the Pijuice Hat is out of stock and we aren’t expecting to receive more for at least a few months.
The Pi 4 is the most power-hungry of the Raspberry Pis so it will consume power faster than something like a Pi Zero would.
Heat will definitely be a factor to manage, LiPo batteries especially need to be kept within a safe operating range or they can create a spectacular fire.

Do you need your project to take photos or video? Downsizing to a smaller Pi like a Zero (if you already have stock) or a 3A+ which uses a bit more power could potentially allow you to use the PiJuice Zero HAT which we do have stock of and get better battery life as a result.

Other possible alternatives could be to avoid solar charging and use large batteries which need to be swapped intermittently, using something like the UPS HAT for a Pi Zero.

3 Likes