RPi system update error

Hi - I have attempted to update my RPi OS to the latest release – Bullseye. The update has ended in an error:

*sudo apt-get install -y gparted*
*Reading package lists... Done*
*Building dependency tree       *
*Reading state information... Done*
*Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have*
*requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable*
*distribution that some required packages have not yet been created*
*or been moved out of Incoming.*
*The following information may help to resolve the situation:*

*The following packages have unmet dependencies:*
* libc6-dev : Breaks: libgcc-8-dev (< 8.4.0-2~) but 8.3.0-6+rpi1 is to be installed*
*E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.*

As a complete novice here, can anyone suggest what is happening and hopefully how to fix it. Cheers Stu

2 Likes

Here is the solution

sudo apt install gcc-8-base

If you’re trying to upgrade from Buster to Bullseye, it is a pain, gets lots of errors and then PI menu bar disappears, etc, etc. Worst is, the little Raspberry Pi (start menu equivalent) disappears. So, unless you know the Terminal commands very well, difficult to get anything done. I tried the above as well but then went in for a clean install.

Just backup the Documents, Downloads, bookmarks, if possible browser config and passwords and other special scripts you have to an USB drive or somewhere.

Use the RPI imager in RPI to do a new OS micro SD card using an external drive. Switch off RPi and switch the SD card and copy back the files from the external USB drives to the respective folders.

A lot easier took me about 10 minutes.

If you have Mathematica installed, uninstall it. It takes a long time (about 700MB size) to download from the RPi repository.

6 Likes

Clean install of the OS is my plan.
OS upgrades have never worked perfectly on other OS systems.
Always something that is not quite right.