sensors->Arduino->Pi->touchscreen product advice?

Hi, Arduino-based maker, but Pi noob here. I currently have a ‘system’ with two distinct parts:

1. A handheld unit comprising sensors connected to an Arduino Mega pro mini, taking user input from a 4x4 keypad to set starting values, scale etc and with everything displayed on a 16x2 LCD.
  2. A Python app running on a PC in which one manually enters certain sensor readings from the unit in 1, the app takes some additional user inputs, and then based on these the app fetches more data from remote DBs through various libraries, processes everything and outputs a final result on the screen.
    This combo has been working just fine, but I’m looking to consolidate 1 and 2 into the ONE self-contained handheld unit. Any advice as to how to go about this please? Initial thoughts:

A Raspberry Pi Zero W with a Waveshare 2.8/3.5 inch touchscreen (I believe it would be connected SPI through PI GPIO pins?) replaces the PC in 2, and the keypad and LCD display in 1. The device then won’t be much larger than the existing handheld unit. The Mega still takes the sensor readings, but passes them serially USB Mega->USB Pi, for display on the touchscreen. The starting values and scale settings that were previously all done on the Mega, will now go touchscreen->Python->USB Pi->USB Mega. The Python app in 2 runs on the Pi, and it takes what it needs from virtual keyboard user input, sensor readings from the Mega, does remote database lookup through the Zero W’s wifi connection, and displays the final result on the touchscreen.
Does this seem viable enough to give it a try? Would the Zero be up to the job? Any other considerations? A few millisec delay in the ‘realtime’ between the float sensor readings from the Mega and presentation on the touchscreen, is fine. And currently the remote DB requests from the desktop app can take anywhere from instant response to a couple of seconds to fulfill, from what I’ve seen.

Hi Jim,