Making a Retro Gaming Device with Pi Zero

Hi everyone, I have started putting together a Retro Gaming device and thought I would post the journey here. All major parts are from Core Electronics so makes sense to use their forum.
Parts Include:

• Raspberry Pi Zero W
  • Adafruit Mono 2.5w Audio Amp PAM8302
  • Powerboost 1000 Charger
  • 2x Polymer Lithium Ion Battery 3.7V ( 2400mAh And a 1100mAh)
  • Waveshare 2.8 LCD
  • Mini Oval Speaker 1watt
  • Tactile Switch Buttons x20 and Slide Switch x2
  • as well as using some basic wiring, solder and Protoboard

I’ve never done anything like this before so pretty excited to tackle this. I’ve already received help from Trent and James from the support team. Hopefully I can get a bit more help along the way from anyone here :slight_smile:

I’ve put together my plan for the GPIO pins. Using the information on the Waveshare Display wiki page along with some tutorials on getting audio from the Pi Zero. And just put the Buttons that I plan to attach in the available slots (Which I’ve highlighted in Blue to indicate the tactile buttons).
I dont plan on using any of the 4 buttons on the Waveshare display as they dont suit the end design I want.

As I’m still a noob and learning as I go. If any of the Pins arent allowed to be used in a way I plan please let me know. Cheers.

4 Likes

Hey James,

Sounds like an awesome project!

Do you have a link to the display that you are using?
Nothing jumps out as being in the wrong spot and the audio being on PWM0 is excellent. I didnt do a comprehensive check but all that I looked at is all good.

I cant find the exact video where this was discussed, Zack Freedman used an I2C IO expander in one of his projects to get out multiple button streams from the one board (a similar one can be found here)