Underwater ROV

I am a Teacher in Cairns and we are looking at making submarines from Micro:Bits. The submarine will have 3 motors and an light. I envisage that “tilt left” will be left, “tilt right” will be right, “tilt forward” will be down and “tilt back” will be up. Pressing buttons “A” and “B” will be start and pressing button “A” will turn on a light.

From this I guess I am after a break out board for the micro:bit, three suitable motors and a suitable light. They do not need to be waterproof as this is something we will need to work out.

3 Likes

Hi David,

Interesting, so will you have a neutrally buoyant collection of wires leading down to your sub? (with a waterproof Gromit to connect to a waterproof container, I found that having too low of a gauge caused the drag to increase almost exponentially) I had an extremely similar project that I put together a while back, and one of the biggest issues was wireless signals being blocked, particularly in saltwater. You should be able to program the functionality for button based control directly on the microbit using GPIO, as for a driver, it depends on the type of motors that you intend to use (personally I used servo motors), the link below could be a suitable board to perform all of these functions, depending on the access you require in the sealed space that you’ve got. (using non-waterproof motors with servo horns extending into the water via a waterproof connection was the option I used on the ROV).

If you have any further questions please let me know.

Bryce
Core Electronics | Support

3 Likes

Hi David,

From the sounds of things if you are developing this as a class project I would actually recommend leaving the MicroBit out of the water and getting a DC motor which will work underwater. That way you won’t have to worry about waterproofing the ROVs and they can just be a frame. But, the product mentioned above by Bryce would be a good fit. Something like this could be controlled by a microbit: