2-Way 18650 Battery Holder (DFR0969)

This is a placeholder topic for “2-Way 18650 Battery Holder” comments.

This easy-to-use 16850 battery holder with dual-slot offers micro and type-C charging inputs, five 5V/2A output ports, five 3.3V/1A output ports and one…

Read more

1 Like

I’m considering using one of these to power a portable speaker. Would the battery holder need to be turned on each time the speaker is used even though the amp has its own power switch? Many thanks for your assistance and patience with a total beginner. :slight_smile:

Depends on the portable speaker.
If it has a 5V power connection and an audio input connection then Yes.
These devices will have an audio power AMP built in which needs power to work.

If it is just a speaker with only audio in then you don’t need the battery holder at all.
Can you post a pic of the portable speaker connections and the AMP; that way we can give more accurate advice.

The output of an audio power AMP will damage the audio input of a portable speaker; if the speaker has its own power AMP.

Regards
Jim

Thanks so much for your prompt response, Jim. I’m actually looking at using the DF Robot High Power Amplifier listed on this site. I’ve chosen this amp board specifically because of the integrated power/volume knob as it will work for a key design feature of the housing I plan to build. However, I’d rather avoid having to have two power switches. I can’t seem to find an 18650 battery holder on your site that has an in-built charger without also having its own dedicated power switch. Grateful for your advice.

@Abby262255 that makes more sense now.
So the battery holder is to power the AMP and audio comes via the bluetooth.