Adafruit TFT won't turn on

Just purchased the Adafruit 1.3 Color TFT Bonnet for Raspberry Pi - 240x240 TFT + Joystick Add-on and can’t get it to turn on or operate in any way.

I’m extremely new to hardware (experienced with software) so I’ve almost definitely done something wrong on the hardware side. Likely soldering.

My question is: How do I figure out what is going wrong?

To help troubleshoot. I have done the following:

• Installed Pi OS Lite on an SD card and plugged it into my Rasperry Pi Zero
  • Setup headless mode so I can ssh to the rpi
  • Soldered header pins to my rpi
  • Soldered a Pimoroni LiPo Shim to the pins (working perfectly)
  • Attached the TFT Bonnet to the top of the pins
  • Followed the Python installation instructions at this link
  • Tried running the scripts, but nothing seems to happen. There’s no evidence of power being supplied to the screen, or anything at all for that matter.

At the risk of embarrassing myself, I’ve included some photos of my pi that might reveal any obvious issues:

Thank you for any help :slight_smile:

2 Likes

i can only see one possible bad solder joint… it is the pin directly adjacent to the letter codes on the board 2abcd …it looks like it is not making a good contact with the pad if you blow up the image you will see it has a larger shadow than the rest of the pins…
on another note i see that …that pin has a single wire going to that pad.not shure what this feeds …
the notes and the pics on the product page seems a problem and the tutorial video seems to differ from the product however this may not effect the electrical connections …??.. my obs

edit::