Automatic chicken coop door

Hi. I’m a complete beginner so thanks and apologies in advance. I’ve read the similar forum posts but would feel more confident if I started fresh.

My coop has a guillotine door which I want to automate to go up/down at multiple set-times per day. The coop has no power so I’m looking to run off a simple solar / battery system. Note - I have an existing solar sensor light that I thought I might be able to tap into (?).

Can someone please assist with components I may require, e.g. Raspberry Pi Pico WH (?), stepper motor, etc… and anywhere I can start re. how to program.

Thanks again.
John

Hi John.

Welcome to the forums! :slight_smile:
Lovely idea. Such a great beginner project! Simple, useful, and personal.

Let’s start with some tools

The above looks promising.
I think I would just improvise a gear and pulley system which connects to the door.

I haven’t personally used this motor personally, but I like that it’s 5v.
That’s good because alot of solar panels, like this one below, are 5v too.

Pick your favourite microcontroller. I don’t think you’ll need wifi so something simple like this below will be fine.

and also

Maybe, but we’d need a model number and a picture to comment. :+1:

I think @Jaryd has you covered below.

Finalise your design, then commit

Consider sketching up your design on paper before commuting to a purchase.
Don’t hesitate to post your sketch here to get a second opinion.

Good luck.
Pix :heavy_heart_exclamation:

3 Likes

Hi John

I would advise against going down that path. Pix I note has already raised some doubt.
These lights are designed for a low current load of some LEDs and usually have AAA rechargeable cells inside. Quite a low output capability. If you start “tapping into” this sort of thing you might find nothing works at the end of the day.