Chessboard Project

Hi Guys,
I wanted some advice for a project I’m starting.
I’m aiming to build an electronic chessboard that can track position of the chess pieces on the board against rules of the game via software such as Stockfish.

I will have hall effect magnetic sensors under each square and magnets in each chess piece to trigger sensors they sit over the top of.

The of sensors will comprise of an 8x8 matrix with the 8 rows feeding into a raspberry pi via multiplexors.
Example: Rasp Pi - TCA9548A I2C multiplexer - MCP23017 I2C 16 pin port expander x4 - 16 sensors connected to each MCP23017

Since this is my first project I want to start simple in order to learn as I go along and work my way toward my final goal.

I’m wondering whether a raspberry pi zero would be adequate to handle such a project? My limited understanding had me believe the various models are either more powerful and/ or have more connections for various devices.
Does the raspberry pi zero have enough connections to allow me to connect up the sensors via the multiplexors and is it powerful enough?

this is my first attempt in the field which means I will need the basic tools and pieces; so any help with choosing the correct sized breadboard and anything that goes with it would be greatly appreciated.

Apologies for the long rant and I thank you in advance for your time.

cheers

Joe

2 Likes

You’ll certainly be able to tell where things are, but not what’s there. How is your system going to tell a pain from a queen?

You could try tracking changes from the starting position, but it’s bound to get lost along the way.

Rfid is probably too messy. Maybe some kind of pogo pin system could work?

Perhaps you could have the grid but have something in the chest pieces that knows where they are, communicated back via BLE?

Tricky one to do without just brute forcing it with a sensor in every square.

1 Like