Connecting my Arduino Pro Mini 5V to my computer

Hello!

I recently purchased an Arduino Pro Mini 5V and needed to connect it to my computer. I had contacted staff and they told me to purchase the SparkFun FTDI Starter Kit - 5V. It arrived today and I am having quite a few issues(I am very new to all of this). Firstly, I was given a black cord to connect and a little red rectangle(pictured). The side of the cord that is meant to fit in the red thing does not, I have tried and have not been successful. Am I doing something wrong or missing something? Secondly, I have absolutely no clue as to how I am supposed to connect it all to my Pro Mini in order to connect it to my laptop to upload code.

Thanks

Hi Drxwboii
That is certainly the wrong connector. You will need to be sent the correct one. If you purchased this from Core I am sure they will fix this.

Your Pro Mini. You should have been sent a 6 pin header with that Mini. This has to be soldered into the 6 holes at one end. I found it more convenient to fit this long end up, that is long end of the pins on the component side. This FTDI adaptor plugs onto that. There is a 6 pin female connector fitted on the other end to the USB connector. Be careful to fit this the correct way around. The FTDI thing is marked as is the Mini board and you need to match up the functions. They are in the same order if the connector is the correct way around. You will probably need a magnifying glass for this as the writing is pretty small.

I have one of these driving XMAS lights. A great little board and very small footprint.
Cheers Bob

Add on
If the pin header is mounted long pins up the FTDI adaptor should plug in with the component sides “facing” The both boards are marked “GRN” and BLK" on the end pins and MUST be plugged in correctly. I don.t know if there is any reverse voltage protection on the Mini Pro but if the boards are reversed you stand the risk of smoke.

2 Likes

Hi Drxwboii,

Welcome to the forum!!