Controlling a Solenoid with an Arduino

This is a placeholder topic for “Controlling a Solenoid with an Arduino” comments.

We covered a whole bunch of rotational motion when we looked at DC motors. It’s only fair to give linear motion the same treatment.
Electric solenoids work on similar electromagnetic principles to those of DC motors, however solenoids can us…

Read more

Can you help me with the same setup on 12v solenoid valve instead of 5v solenoid?

Hi Soundar,

The setup will be pretty similar, just provide 12v power to the transistor, and use the signal from the Arduino to “close” it!

1 Like

Hello,

I’m extremely new to all this and just followed the tutorial. When powering the Arduino Uno via the usb power adapter (5V 2A), the solenoid doesn’t move at all. If I push it the solenoid stays in place and doesn’t bounce back. It’s a mini push pull solenoid with a 2pin jst connector, similar to the one in the tutorial. In fact I’m not even sure how to connect it to the breadboard properly, do I just use jumper cables?

The only things that differ from the tutorial is the diode, 1N4007 instead of 1N4001, and the transistor which is a BC547.

Apologies if there’s something really obvious missing here, I’m feeling really lost…

Hi Vincent,

The emitter and collector on the transistor you are using are on the opposite sides as the transistor in the tutorial. It will not work if wired up the same. Here is the BC547 pinout.

You mentioned that your solenoid is similar, is it a 5v solenoid? Does your solenoid move when connected directly to 5V?

Hi Stephen,

I believe it’s the exact same one as the adafruit mini push pull 5v solenoid (ID 2776), which looks the same as the solenoid in your tutorial.

Oh I did not know that the transistor pins were reversed, did not notice that! I think I got the hang of it now, thank you very much for the help!

1 Like