Error trying to run Atmospheric monitor on PiicoDev

Error trying to run Atmospheric monitor on PiicoDev. Sorry. I am a newbie.
Have now tried three different modules and none will connect

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 9, in <module>
  File "PiicoDev_BME280.py", line 28, in __init__
  File "PiicoDev_BME280.py", line 60, in _read16
OSError: [Errno 5] EIO
3 Likes

Hi Graeme,

Could you please post your code or link to code that you’re running? Generally, others have solved this with a small delay after writing to I2C, but we’d have to take a look at your code to work out whether this is a fix we need to do in the library, or your code.

https://forum.micropython.org/viewtopic.php?t=4746

Keen to get to the bottom of this!
-James

2 Likes

It’s the code unaltered from your tutorials. Failing to communicate with the three sensors I have installed.

3 Likes

Hi Graeme,

Sorry to hear you are running into issues, which dev board were you using and on your string of sensors do you have any duplicates? Although you can string many along with PiicoDev at the same time, I’d get them working individually then you can jump into more :smiley:

Liam.

2 Likes

All different sensors. Am using latest version of dev board which seems to be dated 2020
Have just been trying one sensor at a time anyway

3 Likes

Here is the code I am trying to run

# PiicoDev Atmospheric Sensor BME280 minimal example code
# This program reads Temperature, Pressure and Relative Humididty
# from the PiicoDev Atmospheric Sensor. An altitude reading is also
# available

from PiicoDev_BME280 import PiicoDev_BME280
from PiicoDev_Unified import sleep_ms # cross-platform compatible sleep function

sensor = PiicoDev_BME280() # initialise the sensor
zeroAlt = sensor.altitude() # take an initial altitude reading

while True:
    # Print data
    tempC, presPa, humRH = sensor.values() # read all data from the sensor