Extremely Hot Stepper

Hi all,

I am a rookie to all this, but am working on a project to make an automated dog door as my dog has a habit of needing to go out in the middle of the night.

I have a raspberry pi and this stepper: ROB-09238 (12v, 0.33A) and am using the TB6600 stepper motor driver. I have it all working well, but not sure about my power supply as the motor gets extremely hot and I mean hot enough to fry an egg on it. The power supply is an old 12v 2.5A charger supply I had lying around.

Forgive me if I am wrong, but I always thought power supply amps only mattered if you try to draw more than the power supply has got. Requiring less amps was moot as devices only use what they use. Is the fact that the power supply is 2.5A the possible reason my motor is getting hot. It is so hot you can’t touch it, even when it is doing nothing.

FYI: if you think the raspberry pi is overkill to run a stepper, its not. This is one part of the project. It will also use bluetooth and i beacons to control the door access and also include a camera and locking mechanism which I am still working on.

Appreciate any feedback on the extremely hot stepper motor.

Hi @Chris56374,

Sounds like a great project underway. What current setting have you got for the TB6600 (there are 8 options)?

Here’s the User Guide. Current settings are about midway through. I’m not familiar with that board; perhaps the current settings are just safety limits given you can’t define precise values. Some advanced stepper drivers will over-drive voltage to ensure max-torque is available at all times.

It’s worth mentioning that Stepper Motors do get hot, in general. The ROB-09238 has 32.6 ohm resistance for each coil. With 12V across the coil, that’s 0.368 Amps, which would be 12x0.368=4.41 Watts of energy per energized coil. If you are half stepping, then two coils are on during rotation (8.82 Watts).