GPS not producing sat data (again)

This isn’t a new issue, but gee, I really want to understand what goes wrong.

I got a new Neo module this week form Core E.
( https://core-electronics.com.au/u-blox-neo-6m-gps-module.html )

I’ve only got a fix from it twice. Now it produces no sat data at all. And I got the fixes not using the supplied active patch antenna, but with a 10cm antenna wire that had broken off another patch antenna.

I now have four modules identical or similar to this one and none produce sat data. The older ones used to work well but no more. I’ve been working them for more than 2 years.

This is not an issue of having a clear skyview – that is the easiest factor to get right and be certain you’ve got right.

For power supply, I use USB from laptop, power bank (my favourite) or phone via OTG cable.

I carefully monitor the NMEA sentences with either u-center or a custom app on an Android phone.

From other forums it’s apparent many others have the experience of never getting sat data from this type of board. The usual advice is to ensure a clear view of the sky but that isn’t always the solution.

One thing I recently realised is that it is easy to inadvertently short the antenna socket when connecting the tiny ipex connector. If the board has a power LED it will go out with the short. If it doesn’t have a power LED you have no indication a short has occurred.

The rule has to be: never connect or disconnect the antenna with power on. I’m confident I have not caused such a short with this new module. Would a short damage the RF circuit of the Neo?

Anyone with similar experience with their Neo modules?

John.

1 Like

Hi John.
If your antenna is an active type as you say it is it will be supplied power via the coaxial connector and cable, similar to a TV mast head amplifier. A short on this could do anything. Only someone with experience with the inner workings of the device could tell you.