Newbie Requires Assistance

Ladies and Gents

I am new to Arduino and have a project I want to build. By trade I am a Industrial Electrical Fitter with experience in Programmable Logic Controllers and ladder logic, and associated instrumentation and power electronics (ten years since I worked as a Eleco). So I am not unfamiliar with many of the concepts, but the details is what I need assistance with

The project is to build a module to do up to 8 channel of MOSFET switching in a four wheel drive (LED lighting, fridge, compressor) and have the ability, to in the future, to connect 2 to 4 analog inputs (pressure and temperature) providing feedback to a touch screen.

From what I have read Arduino will achieve this best with 5V logic on the outputs. But where I am unsure, from a initial concept scoping, is that I wnat to do the control via a touch screen at the drivers seat.

The MOSFET module will be mounted in the rear canopy. And I would prefer cable based comms to the touch screen, approx 3 metres of length.

Is this possible and how?

I am sure this will raise other questions.
Thanks is advance.

What your asking is possible, but it is quite complex as a beginner project.

The Arduino UNO has:
14 digital pins which can be inputs or outputs. Enough to drive 8 channels.
5 Analog inputs which meets the 2 to 4 that you need.

Some pins on the UNO are dual function.
4 digital pins used to provide a MOSI/MISO interface. (3 if you don’t need an enable pin)
2 analog pins used to provide a SPI interface.
2 digital pins provide a serial program load interface.

The MOSI/MISO & SPI interfaces could be used to connect to some touch screen device in the future. (dont have one in mind yet)