Newbie trying to power an LED project

Hey everyone.

Sorry to waste some of your time but I am a bit of a newbie trying to find out how to power a project.

The Drama department at school asked me the physics teacher to help them build a prop campfire. I thought I would just whack together 1m of addressable LED strip and an Arduino into a box and call it a day BUT I haven’t had to build something that needs rechargeable batteries before.

Looking for some advice on

• battery - what size should I get if I go LiPo? the LEDs will almost always be coloured and because they are flickering they wont all be on full brightness

• Battery charging - Is there something I can buy that will handle all the battery charging? possibly also something that can pump out 5V for arduino etc

A lot of the coding and other arduino stuff I know I’m just new to battery packs and to be honest after reading the warnings and the dangers of over charging Lipo scares me a little but it is the go to battery pack.

1 Like

Hi @Matthew223092

I would start here and pick through the list of components part way down the page on the right.

Grab the Pico, the LiPo battery, and then add in some of these for the LEDs as the Pico can drive them ok

and here is the ‘getting started’ guide for it all.

I am thinking through this for the in hall ‘campfire’ for my Cub Pack, as recharging should be as simple as plugging the system into a USB power charger - as used for mobile phones. Add a small switch that the Pico reads, to tell it to ‘do nothing’ i.e. charge only, or ‘go for broke’ and play fire. And then you can do away with the charger …

Hope this helps

Murray

1 Like

Hi Matthew, Welcome to the forum!

Just to add to Murray’s excellent response, generally overcharging is prevented by the charging IC (LiPos are picky as you said, they want CV at the end of the cycle, so that’ll prevent overcharging, good video on this)