Pico + LiPo SHIM + GlowBit

Hi,
I’m a beginner with the Pico, and have done a few breadboard projects with it so far.
Recently, I bought the Pimoroni LiPo SHIM and a 3.7V 1100mAh Lipo battery which works well to power the board for basic stuff.

My question is, will that setup provide enough power to run the pico and a GlowBit 8x8 LED Matrix? The GloBit is also listed as 3.3 to 5 VDC. I know larger light arrays require an external power supply. Would that also be the case here?

Thanks.
PS. sorry for my ignorance, I have yet to do my own ohms law calculation!

1 Like

Hi Timothy,

Welcome back to the forum!!

In short, yes you’ll need a larger supply to be able to power the GlowBit 8x8 matrix. The good thing is that you’ll be able to power it through a PowerBoost module! It also handles detection of a low battery so you can disable the Glowbit!

Each pixel can draw up to 60mA each at full brightness(getting close to 4A) so dialing down the brightness in code is a good idea.
It’d also be worth checking out this USB Power bank if you’re drawing above 50mA consistently, it handles charging and automatic cutoff when the battery gets too low: USB Power Bank Fast Charge 10000mAh | Core Electronics Australia

Liam.

1 Like

Hi Liam, sorry for the long delay on this. I’m ready to make an order for this project. But I’m still confused as to what I will need in the way of Lipo products to support a portable and re-chargable pico/glowbit.
I should clarify that this will be intended to be sown into a jacket, so using something like the USB Power Bank is too large for that.
The PowerBoost 1000 Charger - Rechargeable 5V Lipo USB Booster you suggested looks good, but I have a few questions about it.
If I use the PowerBoot 1000 Charger, do I still need the Pimoroni LiPo SHIM? Also, is the 3.7V 1100mAh the best lipo to use for this project? I can certainly dim the brightness in code as you suggest, but would like to know what it’s going to take to run the project.
Thanks in advance.