Raspberry Pi is suddnely very slow for 10 minutes

Hello,

I am relatively new to Raspberry Pi but have many years of experience in IT.

I am using a Raspberry Pi 4, Model B with 4Gb RAM to drive a series of LEDS and some other things for a project. It has all been working well. Yesterday when I powered up the Pi is was incredibly slow. I connect via VNC and it could barely paint the screen, Responses to mouse clocks were also very slow. I rebooted and it was the same. Finally I tried to connect via ssh and this seemed to work OK. The I reconnected via VNC and it was back up to normal speed and worked reliably for the rest of the day. This morning it did something similar.

It seemed to me that the processor was being consumed by something, but I have changed nothing. I wondered if anyone has any suggestions please.

John

2 Likes

Hi John,

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:
Were you able to identify any tasks running on the Pi that seemed to be using an abnormal amount of CPU load?
My first reaction would be to view tasks via the terminal with htop and see if anything looked off there.

2 Likes

Hi John,

Just to add to Trent’s comments, there’s a small chance that whatever is chewing up your Pi’s power is also heating it up (leading to throttling and hence more slowdowns)
vcgencmd measure_temp can be run in the terminal to check your temperature.

What power supply are you using? Undervoltage is common in non-official supplies, and can cause throttling and slowdown in the worst of cases.

I’ve also seen similar symptoms from a dying microSD card, where the device is constantly waiting for the uSD card to respond, but it doesn’t do so in a timely manner. I’d test your Pi with a spare card if you have one, or boot from USB if you don’t.

Keen to get your Pi back in shape!
-James

3 Likes

Thanks - I will have a look. It just seems intermittent.