Raspberry Pi Pico Soldering

Hi there. I am new to soldering, and was wondering if you sold any solder that was optimal for the Raspberry Pi Pico GPIO headers. I have bought a soldering iron, and it came with quite thick solder that I am sure would be too tricky to use with what I need it for. Thanks for your help!

2 Likes

A typical 40W soldering iron will be fine. I think you will find this video helpful: Soldering Header Pins to your Raspberry Pi Pico - YouTube

2 Likes

Hi, I already have a 30W iron, and was just wondering if Core Electronics sold the diameter of solder that was best to use with the Raspberry Pi Pico. Thanks for your reply anyway!

2 Likes

Hi Ezra
There is no solder specific to Pico. I find that 0.7mm diameter a pretty reasonable all round size for most electronic uses. With 5 cores of flux. I say this as I think you can still get single core which is not much good for this purpose (plumbing probably OK). Should be available from Core but also Jaycar, Altronics and any other electrical/electronic outlet.

There is also Lead Free solder which requires a bit higher temperature than usual. Also probably a temperature controlled iron to get that higher temperature. As a newcomer to this task I would suggest you stick with the m common 60/40 tin/lead alloy which will be easier for you to use I think.

Those header pins you want to solder are quite thick so maybe 30W a bit borderline but should be fine if you let the iron heat up properly and let it recover for 30 Sec or so between soldering of these pins. If you are too quick with this iron it won’t recover enough and you will finish up with dry or improperly soldered joints.

Study some instruction material, written and visual and have some practice before sailing forth and wrecking boards, also introducing faults and other problems.

Happy soldering
Cheers Bob
Just had a look at that video.