Talking textiles and woven speakers

Hi, I’m an artist/ teacher and I have been exploring making my textiles talk (text and textiles, spinning a yarn etc.). So far I have made a series of 12 artworks with conductive thread and bare conductive paint and have programmed a Bare Conductive PiCap with a Pi3 model B to trigger aural stories when touched. I have also been weaving my own copper speakers too (with the aid of a simple 9V 0.5W Mono Audio Amplifier). The problem is that only one person can interact with the 12 artworks at once as I have only managed to use one sound output. The Bare PiCap has its own output as does the Pi- is it possible to add other sound outputs via USB? Is this easy to program? ie- touch input to sensor 1-3 triggers audio output A, touch input to sensors 4-6 triggers audio outputB etc.
I want to set this up for a gallery and wondering if several GemmaM0s could perform a similar function ? How much audio can they store?
The aim is to have several people interacting with the different works at once, the woven speakers are quite small and require the audience to get close to the artworks so there isn’t really a need for headphones. Link here: HOW TO GET WHAT YOU WANT

I’m pretty new to this but have managed to successfully fudge my way through so far! Thanks Hayley

1 Like

Well that is different. Had a look at that link and it seems you are effectively winding your own voice coil into the fabric. I wondered about the magnet (a requirement) until I looked at the link. One thing puzzles me, what is the conductive paint for. I thought if anything it would kill the coil inductance which is required if you are going to make the fabric move.
I am sure some Pi gurus (not me) will come up with a method to achieve your goal.
Cheers Bob

1 Like