UHF RFID tag identification limitations around steel

Hi, I need to identify when an object passes over a point on the other side of a 10mm thick steel plate. I know that RFID struggles to penetrate through steel; however, I do have the ability to drill a hole directly below the line that the RFID tag passes over (see attached sketch).

Questions:

• Has anyone dealt with a similar use case and resolved the issue using either UHF RFID tags or an alternative?
  • Does any one know what size hole would be required to allow the RFID reader to adequately transmit and receive a signal?
  • Is there a particular technology that I should focus my attention on outside of RFID?

Restraints:

• Tags are to be passive
  • Tags need to have a max width/diameter of 5mm
  • Transmitter/Receiver needs to be able to be supported by battery power

NOTE: I am a beginner in this space and hoping to gain some direction to reduce the time to develop a solution. Open to thoughts and suggestions.

Cheers, Chris

3 Likes

Hi Chris.
What are you trying to detect, the tag or the block of material. If it is the block of polymer material an infrared system may be simpler. The transmitter could be mounted below shining through a hole and if a receiver can be mounted above a through beam detector system would probably be OK or if the bottom of the polymer is shiny or smooth then a reflective system may work.
Cheers Bob

2 Likes

Thanks for your input Rob. Unfortunately, due to the application I cannot use light. I really need to be able to detect the presence of an embedded tag/sensor so that I can gain positive presence of the item. I anticipate having a series of sensors at different heights come across this point and would like to be able to also determine the height based on signal strength in addition to present yes/no. If you’ve got any other thoughts would be keen to hear them. Cheers

3 Likes

Hi Chris.