Upload ASM file to ATmega8A

I’m sorry I’m new to micro controllers and programming but thought I would start with a simple project LED VU meter using a Atmel AVR ATmega8A. The author of the project is not responsive to questions but he provides a ASM file and a HEX file … problem is I don’t know what I need to upload the file or which file to upload to the micro controller here is the link to the project Sound level indicator with 2x 20 LED and peak indicator any help would be appreciated, please be gentle this is my first introduction to micro controllers … Thanks in advance :cry:

2 Likes

That is a very old project, and getting that code uploaded is not going to be easy. It appears that the project uses PonyProg, which requires a custom interface for uploading and might not run on anything newer than Windows XP. There’s no way of knowing whether or not that HEX file would be compatible with any of the current IDEs, but in any case I don’t see much point in trying to upload someone else’s HEX file for this project. The code would not be complex if rewritten for a higher-level language than assembly, and if you create it yourself then you will know how it works and you can adjust it to your own conditions. How far advanced with the hardware are you? If you were to implement the design using a development board such as a UNO then you can use the facilties of the IDE to generate the required upload command for a HEX file which might be worth a try. But I think you are pretty much on your own with a project that old.

There is a much newer version here. The difference is that the LEDs are not multiplexed, so it can’t support as many. But it could be upgraded to the full 40 of the original using that circuit diagram and some variation to the display code.

4 Likes

Hi All