3d printer problems

Hi
I have a 3d printer. Did not use it for a month but then over the last week used it again.
I did a few 3d prints and late yesterday I started another print but then 2% into print it just stopped.
I tuned it off waited for about 30min then tried the same print again and again it stopped.
This morning I tried another print which was successfully done a few days ago and 2% in that stopped. I looked on internet as I am still learning about 3d printers to see any suggestions.
One said it could be the fan, might need a second one. While I am still learning any suggestions would be great.

1 Like

Additional information that would be helpful includes brand and model of printer. Also, are these prints being done using USB from the PC or straight from the SD card in the printer? Is the printer responsive at all when it stops, or is the only option to turn it off? What monitoring is available (eg printer LCD screen or ‘Monitor’ option in the slicer) and what does it report?

1 Like

Hi.
Its Creality cr10s pro. I have only done them via sd card. The printer is non responsive when it stop. I think I did try working with lcd on printer but I manage to enter the adjust screen and that was it. I think that also froze. The only option I had was to turn it of. I was able to manually raise up the head.
I only use the slice to change the prints to gcode. I have only once connect pc to printer via usb port. I dont know how to use slicer in the way you are talking about. I am still learning about 3d printers. If you can run me through that process that would be good. I am computer liberated.

1 Like

The technique for printing via USB will depend on which slicer you are using, but if the LCD is not functioning then there might not be any additional information through the monitor function of the slicer. However, if printing via USB works then that isolates the problem to the SD card, so it is worth a try.