Andruino Nano 33 BLE as LED controller

Hi everybody,

I’m a reasonably experienced software developer but this is my first adventure into hardware. The last time I touched a soldering iron was in high school and I spent most of my time making solder balls on the workbench.

My partner is wanting to build a handheld motion-controlled light (think shake to turn on and change brightness/color) in something the size of a 250ml drink can or thereabouts. I’ve had Andruino suggested as the control board and based on some light review of the options the Nano 33 BLE seems like a good option as it has an IMU built-in.

Next, I was looking at LED options something RGB(W), addressable and low/no solder is needed.
Given the size constraints, a NeoPixel Stick seems like a good option but I’m not sure the Arduino Nano 33 BLE can power it directly?

Lastly, power is something that I’m having a lot of trouble with my initial thought was to just use a little USB battery and run the Nano off that and the LEDs off the Nano? If I can’t manage that I’m guessing I’ll need separate power for both or can they share a battery either in series or parallel?

Thanks in advance for any advice, nothing above is set in stone if there’s a simpler solution that can fit the brief I’m happy to explore it.

Cheers,
Steve

2 Likes