Best sensor to use for lineal distance

Hey all,

i am new to the world of Arduino and having heaps of fun with it. But it’s time to put it to work. I want to make a lineal metre counter like the old school wheel counter but want to do it with sensors and not need to physically touch the surface I’m measuring.

My objective is - count the total lineal meters of timber i feed through a machine, count the number of individual lengths and the time from when the first length enters to when the last board exits.

I would love some suggestions on the best way to do this and the best sensors to use. the proximity of the timber to the sensor would be as close as 5mm and as far as 250mm.

TIA.

2 Likes

Hey Gavin,

Glad to hear!
Are you able to mod the machine a little bit? I’d say adding a rotary encoder(this is just an example, I’d measure up the machine and pick one to suit - RPM of the shaft and diameter) would the easiest way to going about figuring out the length of the timber and to detect the presence a laser TOF sensor or ultrasonic distance sensor.

A lil bit of a tangent although relevant: With many projects there will be many ways to do it and some will be easier or more accurate than others…first point fixation and sunken cost fallacy come into play a lot as well - Zack Freedman has a couple great videos on this topic

1 Like

Hi Gavin

This could get a bit tricky.
What size are we looking at. Large sawmill type thing or small hobby workshop style. What sort of accuracy are you looking at. Possibly the easiest if there are rollers involved would be count roller revolutions and calculate but that would assume no roller slippage.

Without having a roller on or something attached to the timber this could be a bit more tricky that seems at first sight. I think to measure acoustically or even optically to the end of the timber this end would have to be a respectable size.

Maybe a tape measure and pen and paper???
Cheers Bob

3 Likes

Hi Liam. Thanks for the reply.