Connecting arduino mega via bluetooth to multiple devices

Hi, I am creating a class management tool for primary schools for my Year 12 Major Project.
I am aiming to wirelessly connect multiple screens such as OLED Display modules to a teacher’s device that has buttons on it to warn children about their behaviour and have timers etc on it.
How do I achieve this via Bluetooth connection and using Arduino Mega?

1 Like

Hi Xanthi! Welcome. :slight_smile:

That’s a sweet project.

What about the HC-05. I have limited experience with it but I understand it’s a tested staple. I was helping a friend where an HC-05 was involved and found it easy to work with in that context.

Are the OLED Display modules something you already own? Are they Bluetooth ?

You might like to have two Arduino’s, one as your MASTER control unit and the other as a SLAVE receiver unit.
The slave can then receive instructions from the master and put the correct text up on screen.

Core has a guide :slight_smile:

Concerning the multiple screens, do they all receive the sames message at the same time, or are you wanting different messages on each at different times ?

1 Like

I would like the screens to receive different messages - for example, one button press sends a signal to the connected Arduino to light up green.

Ah ok!

Do you already own these oled displays?
If so what are there model numbers?
Are the connected to a device already?

If you dont already own these displays, how big would you like them to be?

I do not own OLED displays, however I would like the 1.5 inch ones.

Would this display work for you?

I used a Jaycar USB Host Shield with a USB dongle connected to an Arduino Mega.
The dongle communicated with a Playstation Controller to control a robot cart.
Pretty easy to get going and everything just plugged in.

In your case it would be a little different trying to communicate with multiple devices.
Bluetooth likes to pair so it would be connecting and disconnecting.