CR10S Pro V2

I am new to 3D printing and my filament keeps building up on the print bed. I have leveled it multiple times and it still does not fix the problem. It has gotten bad enough that it would build up into the heating block. I don’t not know how to fix this after trying different things. Please help!

4 Likes

Hi Davon,

I think I know exactly the phenomenon you’re talking about! Rather than sticking to the bed, your filament is either extruding into air and forming a spaghetti ball, or sliding around on the bed and forming a big blob on the nozzle.

There are a few ways around this:

1. If you’re getting spaghetti, that’s usually because your nozzle is too high (but you can confirm this by actually looking at the level of the nozzle, I’d drop your Z-offset a bit, as even when using the paper method, some tuning is required. Teaching Tech has a good guide on this, and even has a video on manual mesh leveling if you can’t afford/integrate a BLTouch and have a warped bed
  2. If you’re getting a large blob, that usually means that while your level is good (it’s squishing the filament down as it prints the first layer), your filament is still slipping. This can be fixed by raising the bed temp (bed temps are a rule of thumb and unique to your printer - thermistors can lie and your environment and bed structure can influence the top temperature). Raising your bed temperature to 60, 70, or maybe even 80 can help it stick better. If you’re printing harder filaments like PC or ABS, as high as 120 might be necessary. Do this gradually though as you’ve got to respect both your printer’s limits, and not get your bottom layer tooooo soft. If your temp seems to bounce around, you may need to PID autotune it.
  3. If your filament is slipping, another thing to watch is how clean your bed is. You can use dish soap and hot water to clean off any grease, and IPA to soften any filament stuck to it and get the last of the grease off