Data from RPi/Venous OS to the VRM Portal via 4G

Hi community, I’m very new to this sort of thing and struggling (at 70years) to find answers,

I have a Waveshare SIM7600G-H 4G Hat on a Raspberry Pi 4B running Venous OS V3.30, I am trying to send the data from Pi/Venous OS to the Victron VRM Portal.

I can update the data in the Portal over WiFi but not via 4G GSM

This is a mobile installation with GPS, no phone or SMS required.

Has anyone done this or know of a tutorial, I have spent several (now 5) days looking for answers without success, there are many good tutorials however they don’t seem to fit my installation, thank you in advance, Maurice

Hey Maurice, Welcome to the forums!

Sorry to hear you are having trouble. I did some digging on the web and managed to find these troubleshooting steps. You have probably tried a few of these already but they may be some value in here for you.

1.Validate proper installation of the SIM7600G-H 4G HAT on Raspberry Pi. Make sure you have attached your HAT correctly to your Pi.

2.Configure the APN settings. Access Point Name (APN) must be configured correctly to enable the Pi to connect to the internet via your mobile data plan. The APN depends on the mobile cellular provider of the SIM card you are using. An incorrect APN setting will prevent your device from connecting to the Internet.

3.Ensure proper connection of the antenna. Check whether your antenna has been connected correctly for network reception. Install the antenna at a spot where it can receive network signal well and adjust its positioning until there’s good reception.

4.Update SIM7600G Driver and Scripts. Waveshare provides the script required for the SIM7600 4G HAT to operate properly. Make sure that you have the latest driver and scripts installed on your Raspberry Pi. You can download these from Waveshare’s official website and follow the instructions mentioned there.