MAXTEMP Error on the Reality cr 10 3D Printer

Hello everybody :slightly_smiling_face:

My name is Emil and I’m a young adult who just got a broken 3D Printer for free. My hope was to repair it, but now I am failing at this attempt…

On the screen of my Reality cr 10 300 3D printer, there is a warning saying : Error: MAXTEMP.

So i figured out that the hotted could be broken. I replaced it with a new one, but that didn’t help. As I turned it on without having plugged in the Hotend to the printer, the same warning kept on appearing.
Does that mean it is broken on the inside? Is it completely broken or do I still have a chance to fix it? I’m willing to spend money on the repair, but I need professional help, since I am a complete amateur in this new hobby.

I hope somebody is kind enough to help me :slight_smile:

Thanks, Emil

2 Likes

A faulty replacement part is not unknown. You can compare the replacement to the original (for instance, measuring the resistance of the individual components) - if there’s a difference then that indicates the fault was probably in the hotend. If there’s no difference then either both are good or both are bad. To find which it is you can follow a guide such as
:pushpin:3D Printer hotend won’t heat up - Diagnosing - identify Fault - Replace Ceramic Heater Cartridge - YouTube

When you replaced the hotend, did that include the temperature sensor, or was it only the heater? The problem could be either a failure to heat, or a failure to control the heating. If both the sensor and the heater got replaced and that didn’t fix things then the problem might be in the controller board hardware (the part that reads the sensor value, or the part that drives the heater) or in the firmware (the part where the sensor data gets interpreted and acted on).

The only practical fix for a hardware issue in the controller is is to replace the controller board.
CREALITY 3D CR 10 V2 3D Printer TMC2208 ultra silent Driver Mainboard