Newbie Question – Turning 12V 2A into 8V 2-3A

Hi I’m new here and I’m a photographer wanting to power a camera in a particular setup and am looking for some help in creating the right ‘elegant’ power solution – I can solder pretty well and a bunch of things like that…. however I am just learning electronics and I’m not a Math head, so be gentle :wink:

There are products out there that do this job for other camera brands and also similar use cases… but an elegant solution for my Nikon use case is not available off the shelf, which is to take 12V 2A and safely and efficiently down to 7-8V 2A using the correct plug systems and with whatever safeguards I need to protect the system (Assuming it’s possible).

The equipment involved in this process is the DJI Ronin-S Gimbal and the Nikon Z6 Camera.

As a start point of my project I’m using some of the other solutions in the market to help determine what is an appropriate power specification for my use case. Both examples convert power to their respective specifications and feed it via a dummy unregulated battery into the camera via it’s battery terminals.

Incidentally Nikon are not very forthcoming with specifications relating to the cameras power demands, which is why I am referencing these other products.

You can see them here:

https://tethertools.com/product/onsite-relay-a-coupler-bundle/ – Output 8V 2A

https://tethertools.com/product/onsite-relay-c-coupler-bundle/ – Output 8V 3A

You will see if you look at the specs that these two solutions have slightly different specs despite both being rated to safely run my Nikon Z6 camera.

In this particular case both products have an internal battery which probably helps condition the supply as well as allow for hot swapping power sources, that said theres plenty of products out there that don’t have an internal battery in their circuit.