PI4 won't boot

Hi

I am a newbie to RPi and bought a PI4 in November. I managed to run a few OSes with PINN. But, all of sudden, it won’t boot and has no signal from the monitor(tv). I thought it was a HDMI issue but it looks like the consistent green light issue. So, the red and and green lights are ALWAYS ON with and without SD card. Any tips to solve this?

Many thanks in advance,

2 Likes

Can you make another boot image and try?
Were you using the new version of the OS?

3 Likes

my advice to you would be this crate a noobs op-system disk use a 16 gig card sandisk class 10 type if you can get one or a brand new sd card

your boot rom may be corrupt …browse the rpi official forums for boot up advice if it still will not boot… cannot remember the led code`s sozz rusty

1 Like

Thanks guys,

I tried re-writing SD cards and modifying config file etc. Had no luck. I had 2 SD cards working. None of them are working. If there is no SD card in shouldn’t it still says “SD Card not detected” on boot screen? I don’t get any screen signal.

1 Like

Hey Tinyme,

So that we can get your project back on track as fast as possible can we get you to run through a few debugging steps so that we can get your project back up and running as fast as possible?

• Ensure that HDMI is connected before the power and is connected to HDMI0 (the one on the left when facing the HDMI ports).

• Try removing the SD card and powering on the Pi with HDMI connected to HDMI0. If you get video output and a bootloader screen there is a high probability the issue is with the SD card or software, not the Pi itself.

• If using your own uSD (not a preloaded NOOBS from us), we recommend BalenaEtcher or Raspberry Pi Imager to write the freshly downloaded image to your USD (this fixes most boot issues, due to incorrect formatting methods)

• If using your own uSD, you will need to use the newest version of Noobs or Raspbian for support of new board variants.