Pimoroni Enviro + PiicoDev Adapter

Looking at mounting the Pimoroni Enviro and an additional PiicoDev sensor on a Pi 4, via the HAT Hacker.

Given that some pins are already used by the Enviro, will the PiicoDev adapter clash with it or at all compatible? I’m a plug-and-pray novice, so have no idea whether the I2C pins can be shared.

Any information or alternative suggestions would be very much appreciated, thanks!

– Jono

2 Likes

Hey Jono,

Excellent question!
The I2C bus can be shared as long as there aren’t any address conflicts, the Pimoroni Enviro already is using a couple of I2C sensors (check out this awesome resource: Enviro Plus at Raspberry Pi GPIO Pinout)
Since the PiicoDev adapter breaks out the two I2C communications pins (SDA - Data and SCL - Clock) along with the power connections you’ll be all good in-terms of the pins.

As for the senrors themselves, some of the PiicoDev range allows for new addresses to be selected through a solder pad (this would be very important for the BME as its normal address conflicts with one already on the Enviro, but can be changed to a new address).

Here’s a guide on I2C with a different sensor that covers most of the nitty-gritty: https://core-electronics.com.au/tutorials/I2c-with-raspberry-pi.html

Liam.

2 Likes

Thanks Liam!

Useful information, the conflicting addresses now makes sense to me. Will look into the guides and go from there.

– Jono

No worries Jono!

If you have any questions feel free to reply for some more clarification and we’ll try our hardest!

1 Like

Looks like the default address for the PiicoDev BME280 is 0x77, and the Enviro address is 0x76, cool! Can’t wait for the BME280 to come back in stock.

Just to double check, I’ll need to solder a 3-pin header for the jumper setting right? Will need to find where my soldering gun went…

– Jono

Hi Jono,