PSP Slide Joystick to RPi help

Hi everyone,

First post here. I am going to try and make a small retro gaming device. using a raspberry pi zero (or maybe a rPi3b).
most guides I’ve found say how to hook up buttons for a D-pad and A,B,X,Y buttons etc. But for my build I want to use a psp slide joystick instead of a D-pad. I bought one from Core but to be honest I’m a complete noob with this stuff and I’m not sure how to connect it to the GPIO. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. I’ve managed to connect a screen, battery and charger so far.

2 Likes

Hi 7ames, Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

What kind of reading were you hoping to get back from the joystick? The PSP joystick is pretty basic as it internally just behaves like two potentiometers, with one direction being maximum resistance and the other being minimum. This means you will need an analog to digital converter to read the position of each axis, then some code to interpret that digital number as a position on the scale.

We have other button and gamepad input devices which behave a little differently.
The Pimoroni Player X means that a series of button inputs will be read as a USB controller input by whatever it’s connected to.

This Sparkfun joystick looks like a PS2 analog stick and feeds back its position data via the I2C protocol

2 Likes

Hi Trent!

I purchased this Slide thumbstick

not sure if it’s the same as the PSP one.
I think for what I need it for I need to be able to get the X and Y values.
RetroPie and Recallbox are the main retro game platforms that I’ll be trying to use for this project.
So i just need those to be able to register the joystick values.

I also found this on the site

not sure if it’s necessary though as I really have no idea with this stuff.

2 Likes

Hi 7ames,

That slide thumbstick looks the same to me, it just comes from a different supplier.