Raspberry Pi Car (first project)

Hi All

I’m new to Pi (it arrived yesterday). I’m a developer by trade but have little to no knowledge on electronics. My current set of equipment is as follows:

• Raspberry Pi 4B (8GB)
  • An official micro USB Power Supply
  • 16GB Micro SD Card
  • Raspberry Pi NoIR camera (V2) (this is working but the colour is all tinted purple).
  • Also got the [2.8 Inch Touchscreen for Raspberry Pi (XC9022) - but all I see is the top left corner of a much larger desktop so I put it on a shelf for now (if anyone knows how to configure it to view the full screen that would be great).

For now, I’ve added the Pi to my network and am using remote desktop to connect to it from my Mac and have been working on my python code which is going well.

My son and I want to build a Raspberry Pi car as a project (with face and hand recognition via the camera to get it to move).

I’m assuming I’m going to need a power source for the Pi that can make it mobile (something like the PiJuice). I’m also assuming I’m going to need a motor controller (and motors) and connecting wires and the like. I found this project link (PiJuice Robotic Project • Pi Supply Maker Zone) which seems to cover everything. But I’m not entirely sure if the setup I have currently will work with what I need to buy.

Was hoping to get some advice here around the PiJuice (before I buy it) and the controller (listed on the project link above). Will I be able to run the ‘pi’, the ‘car’ and the ‘controller’ off the PiJuice?

Also, the default battery for the PiJuice indicates around 4-6 hours of use, is there any benefit in getting a bigger batter for it?

Thanks in advance.
David

3 Likes

Hi David,

Welcome to the forums :slight_smile:

Yes, that’s normal for that camera the NoIR is short for No InfraRed filter. The normal version has an IR filter to prevent the purplish tint, but the upside of letting the IR into the camera sensor is much better low light performance.