Simultaneous RFID Reader - w/Lora

Hi :slightly_smiling_face:,

I am about to branch out and purchase a Sparkfun Similtaneous RFID Reader:

I am a novice with electronics but capable with code and supporting applications.

I need advice on how to complement this RFID sensor with a LoRaWAN mod:
Will something like this be suitable on its own:

or

I am leaning towards just using the redboard and connecting further modules:

But really don’t want to set off on the wrong path.

Ultimately i would like to combine,
Solar power
Battery
RFID reader
RFID Antenna - UHF RFID Antenna (TNC)
LoRa Transmitter

I don’t fully understand voltage and amps yet so rather then fry everything i touch :zap: :fire: i hope i can get some good pointers that will not only prevent this but expand my knowledge as well :exploding_head:

Sounds like a great project on the bake. If you know your way around coding, then perhaps just start with the LoPy4. It would be more than capable of interfacing with any RFID module that has a serial interface (with the exception that the pins are limited to 3.3V logic).

1 Like

Thanks for the reply Graham,

The last thing for me would be confirming the ability for this reader to read animal EID tags.
If my thought is correct, watching the frisbee video was like sheep running through a gateway (smarter people out there please don’t steal this one on me :crazy_face:)

Only thing i’ve really found to help me with this outside of automated dog/cat feeders (which are really cool to) is

The simultaneous reader appears to have a wide range for frequencies.

Do you think i am on the right path Graham?

I’m not aware of maker-type products that support ISO FDX-B, though there are countless commercial chioces out there. Animal “microchip” also operatate around 135Khz from memory, and that is well below modern simutanious UHF-type tech.

1 Like

Fantastic, i was uncertain with this element so a little bit of further reading to go…