Year 12 Systems Engineering Project

Hi there,

My name is Daniel and I am currently studying VCE Year 12 Systems Engineering. 50% of the subjects final mark is based on the project and folio (I wish to get at an A). Currently, my idea is to build an autonomous/ ps4 controlled robotic tank (Devastator Tank Mobile) with a robotic arm positioned on the top. I was thinking about adding many sensors onto it: ultrasonic, fingerprint and voice commands with Google Assistant. To avoid overloading an Arduino or Raspberry, how should I set out each sensor and the connections to the board.

I am also wondering if it is possible if I was able to control the robotic arm and tank with the same ps4 controller. How else could I possibly enhance my project and get a high mark?

Kind Regards,
Daniel

G’day Daniel. That’s an impressive sounding project. To answer your last question first, you have so many controls on a PS4 controller you should be able to control everything on your 'bot from there. You only need to decide which button/pad/stick controls which function and program it accordingly.

I’d recommend you start with an MVP (minimum viable project :slight_smile: ) and build up from there. It’s easy to dream big and run out of time. You also need to make sure you keep track of all the resources you’ve used along the way, for your portfolio.

I’d suggest you get the Devastator running first, using:

You’ll need a DC power supply that outputs 5-6V and about 2A. Hopefully you’ve got a plug-pack somewhere already. With that working I hope you’ll feel empowered to go further. Adding the PS4 controller, USB host shield and a battery will let your 'bot roam free. Then add more based on the time you have available.

Good luck!

• Chris

Hey Chris,

Thanks heaps for your reply.