12v Triggering GPIO to turn on camera

To the gods of the project work,

I am currently trying to wire up my car to receive a gpio trigger when the car is in reverse and then turns off when the car is back to normal drive, i know that i am very new to this world and at my age its definitely a hobby to pass the time. i find it so fancinating however im very limited in the world of tech and learning this world be a great start.

At the moment i have a raspberry pi 4 4gb, a 12v camera how to make it work>?

3 Likes

Hi Quan
The easiest place to get a signal when a car is in reverse gear is the reversing light wiring. Relatively easy at the rear end of the car but can be a bit of a dog’s breakfast when trying to do this under the dash.
I had lots of fun with my car (Peugeot) when fitting a reversing camera.
Cheers Bob

4 Likes

Hey Quan and Bob,

Yes, the lines running to your reversing lights should pretty easily get you a quick high/low depending on whether you’re in reverse for this project. Auto-electrical work is often quite an organized mess to put it lightly, just be careful that the voltage that you’re getting off that line is suitable for input to the Pi if you’re connecting directly to your GPIO (or regulated with an appropriate logic-level converter in between if necessary) and you should be good to go!

Let us know how you get it working when you’re done if possible, I’m keen to see whether you came up with any tricks for it along the way that may be useful for future projects :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

3 Likes

honestly your going a to an long extent to do a simple job just hook it to the reverse sensor on the gear box…

Thank you all so much for a swift response… so what I have in been able to achieve is get the camera to work, how do I automate this with gpios? I have seen the core video of setting up a relay. I have also gone that way but I don’t know much about scripting…or making it automated when I switch to the reverse.

Hi Quan