Pimoroni Player X USB - Joystick incorrect joystick values

Hi all, I’m a game designer & programmer working on a Unity project and I’m trying to set up a Picade Player X board and a Joystick & 6 buttons for the input for the project. My problem is thus:

The joystick gives me odd input values which are not usable in Unity as follows:

• Left = Up (-0.01, 1.00)
  • Right = Up (0.01, 1.00)
  • Up = Left (-1.00, 0.01)
  • Down = Left (-1.00, -0.01)

Things we’ve tried:

• Bought a 2nd Pimoroni Player X USB from Core Electronics - similar results.
  • Confirmed the 6 face buttons work correctly (non-joystick)
  • I have tried 2 joysticks, both give exactly the same values. (Both sticks from Pimoroni, through Core Electronics)
  • I have plugged the joystick into the board right-way-up & upside down. When upside down only the left works
  • I have tested the old & new input systems in new unity projects, on 4 separate Windows PC’s and get the same values. Tried both Win 10 and Win 11.
  • I have tested 4 different USB cables, both of which work with other devices and got the same values.
  • I have tested multiple USB ports on all the Windows PCs and got the same values.
  • I have tested it on supposedly plug-and-play games on steam and the xbox app on pc.
  • I have tested it on https://gamepad-tester.com/ (neutral joystick is somehow always set on the lower-right corner), only left and up works at axis0(-1) and axis1(-1) only.

My thinking at this stage is there is something wrong/ miscalibrated with the board? Has anyone else had this problem?

Looking forward to how we can troubleshoot this.

2 Likes

Unity screenshot:

3 Likes

Hi Carlo,

Welcome to the forum :grinning:

I’ve just grabbed a joystick and Player X USB board the same as yours from stock and tested them on the bench here.