RPi camera 3 module not recognised

Hi folks - First up I am a UNIX novice. I am trying to use my RPi camera 3 module with my RPi 4B that has been step up with Mainsail host and Klipper to control my 3D printer (Ender 3). My RPi 4B has Bullseye OS as the base UNIX OS.
When I try to use libcamera I get the following:

pi@mainsailos:~/crowsnest/bin/camera-streamer/tools $ libcamera-hello
Preview window unavailable
[14:05:55.757536670] [38917]  INFO Camera camera_manager.cpp:297 libcamera v0.0.5+83-bde9b04f
[14:05:55.776149797] [38918] ERROR V4L2 v4l2_device.cpp:353 'imx708_wide': Unable to set controls: Device or resource busy
[14:05:55.795792559] [38918]  INFO RPI vc4.cpp:437 Registered camera /base/soc/i2c0mux/i2c@1/imx708@1a to Unicam device /dev/media1 and ISP device /dev/media2
[14:05:55.795948242] [38918]  INFO RPI pipeline_base.cpp:1101 Using configuration file '/usr/share/libcamera/pipeline/rpi/vc4/rpi_apps.yaml'
[14:05:55.796362755] [38917]  INFO Camera camera.cpp:840 Pipeline handler in use by another process
ERROR: *** failed to acquire camera /base/soc/i2c0mux/i2c@1/imx708@1a ***

I’m afraid I have no idea what that all means and therefore don’t know where to go next.
The reason I am trying to get to the camera controls is that the camera refuses to focus under Mainsail/Spyglass control and I’m trying to work out why.
Thanks in advance

Hi Stu,

Is anything running on the Pi that could be using the camera? How did you set the camera up?

vcgencmd get_camera

This is another line you can use to detect if a camera is available. ‘imx708_wide’ this should be the camera but its just another sanity check you can do.

We also have this guide available with some camera commands. Or the repository for libcamera goes into much more depth.

1 Like

Hi Jack - thanks for the response. I get the following when I try that:

pi@mainsailos:/home $ vcgencmd get_camera
supported=0 detected=0, libcamera interfaces=0